little white nubbin

Last night was a killer.

The (divine, fat) Buddha Baby was up all night.

Actually, I lie – He slept non-stop from about ten to about one.

After that he woke up routinely every half-hour to an hour, even after I brought him into bed and my poor husband relegated himself to the spare room.  Buddha Baby seemed to think the middle of the night was a good time to cry hysterically and to practise rolling and pushing up onto all fours.

In fact, the only way I could get him to sleep at all was if I let him fall asleep on the breast. Without taking him off, I mean. None of this gentle “slip it out while he’s sleeping” business.

That must have been a sight; the two of us lying there belly to belly half the night, with his mouth suctioned onto me.

Well, then…

I was not at all surprised this afternoon when I put my finger in his mouth (to retreive a piece of soggy, compacted bread) to feel in there a little nubbin poking up from his lower gum.

His first tooth.

Finally, a tangible reason  for the recent night-waking. Something I can state with certainty when my mother asserts yet again that “he ought to be sleeping through by now.”

6 Responses to “little white nubbin”

  1. electriclady Says:

    Aw, his first tooth! BG also has a couple sharpies ready to pop and I’m glad there’s at least a reason for the crappy sleep now, as opposed to just the assumption that I’m a terrible mother. Heh.

  2. Anita Says:

    I hope you’re going to use Crest on that budding pearly white.

  3. Mel Says:

    The best day ever was when my son signed back for the first time. I was at my wits end, trying to get him to sleep and I finally signed (and hissed), “what is wrong with you?” And he signed back, “mouth hurts.” Oh… Checked for teeth. That was it. 🙂

    I hope the BB gets more sleep tonight. And you too.

  4. Becky Says:

    I’ve been claiming that Alex was teething since he was 3 months old. I figured that explained the extremely frequent night wakings, the grumbliness, and the drooling.

    At 8 months old now, there is nary a tooth in sight.

    I’m guessing he’s just inherited my propensity towards being a pain in the ass. Lucky me.

    Here’s hoping that tonight is better.

  5. Sam Says:

    I am starting to remember why I have been reading your blog for so long! I am very glad to see you back to “yourself” and hurray! for teeth/a reason for the crazy. Because it is all crazy, a non-stop crazy festival of craziness.

  6. Brandy Says:

    You so could have been talking about the night we had with Aiden last night. Ugh! I think it’s his upper teeth though so I completely understand what you’re going through.

    Oh and if someone said to me “he ought to be sleeping through by now” they would do it knowing they were taking their own lives in their hands because I could strangle them to death. I give everyone I know fair warning on that one.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

