About the breastfeeding…

…I think it might be over.

The last few days, Buddha Baby has been refusing the breast entirely. It’s not like the other times he did the refusal thing, where he would cry and be frustrated and arch his back, and it was as if he was interested, but he couldn’t get what he wanted. Traumatic for all, in other words.

 Now it’s as if he’s just not interested; he nuzzles his head into my breast, but he just will not suck. I even tried dragging out the nipple shield and SNS, but that only served to make him angry about being tricked into sucking once he realised the silicon wasn’t a bottle or his dummy.

It could be the top teeth which are in the process of coming down; it could be the mouth thrush he’s had recently. It could be my less-than-calm reaction to the biting he’s been doing lately.

But I don’t know.

Kellymom says babies rarely wean before they are a year old. Unfortunately, I’ve learned that what Kellymom says is not always true.

So we’ll keep pumping, I guess, and hope he comes back.

But I’m not counting on it. Buddha Baby knows what he wants and doesn’t want these days.

13 Responses to “About the breastfeeding…”

  1. dawn Says:

    my friend weaned her baby about jaspers age. 10months as she was biting and had 7 teeth. instead of doing formula as the babe had never had, she went stright to homo / whole milk and the babe is 14 months old, just doing fine with all the right weight gains etc.

    one of my hubbie’s friend, his wife is danish, started milk earlier then a year as well with no side effect.

    anyway just thought i would share other people’s experience that i know about first hand.

    kellymom drives me nutso.

  2. My Reality Says:

    You have done such a great job of breastfeeding Buddha Baby. If you pump, he will still have breast milk. It isn’t long now until your goal of a year.

  3. Sam Says:

    Is it okay to say that Kellymom can bite my ass? Okay then. Thanks.

    I say do whatever works for you and your adorable baby.

  4. electriclady Says:

    You’ve done AMAZINGLY well to get this far. And honestly, I do know at least 2 moms off the top of my head whose babies self-weaned at around 8-9 months. Some kids do decide they’re over the boob all on their own.

    I have such a love/hate relationship with kellymom.

  5. sky girl Says:

    Seriously Meg, pat yourself on the back for a job well done. You are amazing. I know that it’s hard but you’ve done incredibly well.

    xo

  6. thalya Says:

    Meg, I’m sure this is really tough, but think how amazing it is that you’ve got to the point that you’re stopping because he’s had enough, not because you can’t do it. You’ve done fantastically well. Kudos.

  7. Becky Says:

    I know how terrible this feels (despite my somewhat conflicted feelings about breastfeeding in general), and I’m sorry. You’ve been a champ through all of this, and you should be proud of yourself.

    Alex is weaning himself, too, and I, like you read the Kelly Mom article, and found it to be false. I’ve no idea what to do, as he doesn’t take a bottle (I am pretty sure he thinks I lace bottles with battery acid. I do not), so I’m just letting him do what he thinks is best and hoping it’s the right choice.

  8. Bea Says:

    Hard to fight refusal.

    Can you believe I was listening to someone the other day complaining about the trials and tribulations of deliberately weaning her baby at three months? It’s just strange to think of those battling on at one end, and those battling at the other. I guess it’s like fertility – mother nature doesn’t seem to know who to hand the fertile/breastfeeding cards to.

    Bea

  9. projgen Says:

    Well, at least he knows what he wants. Or doesn’t want in this case.

    I learned a long time ago not to go by other people’s timelines. They never work for me.

  10. Serenity Says:

    I’m with sky girl here. You’ve done a fantastic job, and I HAVE heard of babies who self-wean.

    Not sure it helps, though – it’s got to be bittersweet.

    xxx

  11. beagle Says:

    I’m sad for you at this bittersweet milestone, but mostly, I am proud of you. I hope you can be too, like the others said . . . pat yourself on the back!

  12. Tristan Says:

    I’ve known LOTS of babies who self-weaned well before the year mark, so I don’t know what Kellymom is talking about.

  13. maryellenandsteve Says:

    I don’t know who in the hell Kellymom is, but the others are right, you have done a wonderful job.

Leave a Reply

