The last two nights, I have been attempting to get BB back into his cot.

Effectively, this means the dreaded CIO.

The first night wasn’t too bad. He cried and all, but T. took over after half an hour, and once the worst of it was over, at around 7:30, BB slept throught till after 4am – a miracle.

Last night, not so easy.

He was hysterical. Really hysterical, to the point where he actually vomited.

I couldn’t do it.

So there we were, snuggling on the mattress on the floor again.

Except after all that being worked up, he was still unsettled.

I have no idea how any of this will be resolved. Most likely when he eventually grows out of it of his own volition.

When he is five.

9 Responses to “”

  1. MsPrufrock Says:

    I hope I haven’t said this before, because I do the rounds with this comment whenever CIO is mentioned. Moxie said that some children release tension through crying, so CIO works for them. Other children gain tension through crying, which renders CIO useless. I discovered when P was about 8 months old that she was definitely the latter, as she too threw up after working herself into hysteria.

    Consequently, P fell asleep on me every night until she was about 14-15 months old. I figured I was shooting myself in the foot by trying CIO, since not only did she vomit, but she was so worked up that it would take her ages to fall asleep.

    I don’t have any suggestions, I’ll just say that P did eventually grow out of it. Despite completely lacking the ability to self-soothe and get herself to sleep, she magically made it work. They are such baffling creatures really; you don’t know what is going to change and when that will happen – good or bad.

  2. sky girl Says:

    I feel for ya. A lot of the time Chicka still needs to be rocked to sleep. But once she’s asleep we’re able to put her to bed.

    You’ll get through it.

    xo

  3. electriclady Says:

    Right there with you, sister. BG slept through the night (as in 8 pm to 6 am!) three nights in a row last week, and we thought we were GENIUSES and THE BEST PARENTS EVER. But then she started waking up screaming multiple times a night, and it’s been like that for a week? Teething? Developmental spurt? Just plain assholishness? Who knows. I’m resigned to probably not getting a decent night’s sleep for the next decade.

  4. beagle Says:

    Sound horribly stressful.

    xo

  5. Sam Says:

    Meh. Days/posts like this serve as very effective birth control. My kid is driving me crazy(er). He sleeps but every waking moment is spent giving me more gray hairs. *sigh*

  6. Bea Says:

    Sweet! Less than four more years to go!

    (Hopefully much less…)

    Bea

  7. Becky Says:

    Yipes. No fun. Sleep issues suck.

  8. dawn Says:

    yikes that sounds horrible!!
    i keep forgetting the dare password…..i swear everytime i will remember and i never do

  9. thalya Says:

    Oh I empathise. Pob is certainly following a similar pattern.
    Have been thinking about you the last few days. HOw the hell are you?

Leave a Reply

