Hi friends. Hi.

So, seems like my blog is now one of those rarely upated, unlikely-to-say-anything-of-note personal blogs. Do you know I don’t even have Statcounter on it? Ah, how things change… Perhaps I will change the title to My Ramblings.

Heh.

I have been doing ok. You know. Whatever.

At the very least, I am pleased to report I have been doing a fantastic job of channelling my best OCD-ness this last three weeks, having commenced the dreaded Weight Watchers points system. I discovered this website  a few weeks ago, and have found it gratifyingly like Fertility Friend for fat people. So far, I have managed to get my bum to fit back in my old jeans (the ones I got after the ones I got when I started to get fat, anyway. I have several generations of old jeans to fit back in now. They are in storage as an act of hope.) so that is good.

So that has been occupying my time. And so has my writing project, which now has a whole seven pages to it. Those seven pages took me a month to write. I love me a bit of self-criticism, see. Just can’t get enough of it. I could self-criticise all day: M, your writing is a piece of shit… M, you can’t characterise for the life of you… M, this is all indulgent , sentimental twaddle… M, you don’t have the skills to pull off a first person narrative… 

Et cetera.

Oh, I also had a lovely big blow-up with my boss, which I care not to write about except to say it resulted in a confrontational, intervention-style meeting where she faced all the rest of us at the staffroom lunch table and we told her how much she sucked. And then nothing changed becasue she is a nutcase.

Hmm. What else?

BB is still dragging his arse with the walking. I had no idea he was so cautious! We have to trick him into it to get him to walk. But he is clever – any tricks only work once – then he realises what we are doing and plonks himself whining back on the ground. He has taken also to walking on his knees, which seems to satisfy the urge-to-be-upright to the exclusion of getting on his feet.

Funny little critter.

He remains the delight of my life. I feel bad about cutting off his mullet.

11 Responses to “”

  1. Lassie Says:

    Little Lassie walked on her knees for a few weeks before taking off on her feet. It looked ridiculous, but charming. Because of the adoption at a later age, we had a physical therapist (among others) come to our home and evaluate LL. The PT told us to have her walk barefoot as much as possible because her little toes grip the floor and help her balance while toning her leg muscles. It worked. She has discovered that she can cover more ground completely upright. I’m glad I got one video of the knee walk. Someone once said it looks like the “Catholic Pilgrimage on your knees.”

  2. DD Says:

    I don’t remember what specific “treat” gave XBoy the incentive to take his first steps…but it was a necklace that got him to crawl. Everytime I wear it, it brings that memory from six years ago right back.

    The bright side to him walking on his knees is that it’s a shorter distance to fall. Seriously. Once he starts walking consistantly, you’ll be right behind him with arms outreached like you’re herding chickens as a way to prepare for the inevitable trip/fall.

    Good to hear from you again.

  3. Mel Says:

    I’m glad you popped back on. I’d like to hear more about the writing project.

  4. Becky Says:

    Alex is walking only on his knees as well. It’s pretty adorable.

  5. Summer Says:

    I was just wondering the other night how you were doing. Glad to see a post from you!

  6. MsPrufrock Says:

    Haha, I own many generations of clothing, not just jeans. Tragic really.

    I’m disappointed to hear that the mullet has been cruelly chopped off. So much for the camaraderie amongst the Mullet Brigade, eh? P will be most disappointed that another member has disappeared from the ranks.

  7. Sam Says:

    I haven’t had a stat counter for a year or more. It is freeing I think. I had a nifty comment swirling around my addled brain but my husband is playing guitar hero on the 360 and I have no chance of remembering it. I’m glad you posted! Do it again!!

  8. thalia Says:

    I am totally at one with you re the jeans. I just got back into one pair of pre-pregnancy jeans, the ones just before I got pregnant when I was already quite fat. Only about generations to go.

  9. Lut C. Says:

    Hey, good to hear from you! Glad to hear your boy is still his delightful self.

  10. My Reality Says:

    Good to hear from you!

    Congrats on the weight loss and I am sure when BB is walking on his feet, you will be going after him even more and it may even help you get into the next size down in your jeans!

  11. Michelle Says:

    Lily’s had two mullets cut off already and she’s only 13 months old. What’s going on with these kids? Or will it be fashionable again when they are teenagers?

Leave a Reply

