I won’t apologise. Because I am well aware that people hate it when bloggers apologise for being slack-arses. And – much as I adore all my bloggy friends – I haven’t, this time, been sitting here thinking “I must post” and feeling guilty about it. So something is either broken or fixed in my world. I’m not sure which.

Tonight I should be working on my book. That’s been taking up most of my spare time lately. I call it a book, but it only has a few thousand words. But it will be one. It might be crap, but fuck, it will be finished. I won’t ramble on too much about it – just to say that it started one place and then went somewhere else and then I stopped for a month or two and planned (like I tell my students to. You know.) and now it has momentum. I am trying to think of it as an experiment in Process. I am not allowing myself to read the draft back. I am forcing myself to write quantities that do not give me time to overthink anything. I aim to be finished the first draft by the end of January.

Meanwhile, everything else falls apart. Ha.

No, things are not too bad. With work / study / toddler / bed-abandoned husband (consistently co-sleeping, who me??) things are really hectic. It’s kind of nice. As always, I find I get more achieved when I have way too much to achieve. Like I need a stupid amount of responsibilities in order to actually do anything at all.

BB is growing so fast. He is 18 months old now, or 16 months corrected. He is lovely. Mostly. Other times, he isn’t. Other times he kicks and wriggles and runs away from me and slaps me on the face, and yells “Nononononononononon!”Mostly when we are in public places, when I imagine all the other people in the supermarket queue thinking “Why can’t she control her son?”

He is speaking a lot now. I remember MSNing Pru one night, and her telling me how her daughter P. was obsessed with animals. Buddha Boy is all about the animals right now: What does a dog say? What does a monkey say? What does a duck say? etc. etc. etc. That and body parts. It’s lovely to watch, really a delight. He still calls me Dada though, which is disturbing (Like Chicka, Skygirl, and “turtle”!)

He is big into kissing at the moment, too. I think it must be a developmental thing, because the other kids in our playgroup are doing it too, and they’re all within a month of each other. It’s just a non-stop pash-fest at playgroup. BB is an insistent little bugger too. He will just grab my face and hold it to his lips sometimes: Kiss kiss kiss kiss kiss kiss kiss…

Anyway, yo, I should go. I have ultra-important DVD piracy to achieve. My love to all of you.

Facebook me.

8 Responses to “”

  1. Becky Says:

    Alex hasn’t mastered “NO” but he has mastered an earshattering scream. Which he is quick to display should something go either wrong or right. It’s multipurpose.

  2. Sam Says:

    Thank you for the post and the pictures!!

  3. Anita Says:

    Time sure has a way of flying by us at breakneck speed. 18 months already!

    I’d love to facebook you Meg, email me with or for the particulars. 🙂

  4. Sassy Says:

    It’s really good to hear from you. Good luck with the book.

  5. thalya Says:

    did you send me a password at some point? Sorry if so I lost it. Please resend?

    good to hear from you.

  6. dawn Says:

    password please……was it changed??
    thanks!!
    d

  7. My Reality Says:

    BB is simply adorable!

    Tell me more about your book, I would love to hear about it!

  8. Sam Says:

    Pssst! I miss you.

Leave a Reply

